bowling-forum.net
The bowlers choice for bowling chat.

Main
Date: 20 Mar 2006 23:21:50
From: twobirds
Subject: rules question regarding absentee and substitute
This is going to be a little long:

On my Thursday league (5 man teams - mens league), we have two teams with
the same sponsor. Let's call them S1 and S2. S2 has won a quarter and S1
has not.

Each team has six members and rotate their rosster to give each member a
rotating night off.

Two weeks ago, both of those teams were short players. S2 was short two
players and S1 was short 1 player. The member of team S2 who should have
been in the rotation to have the night off paid the dues for a missing
member of his team. He also happens to be the member of that team with the
highest average and also the one who has bowled the most games so far this
season. He did not bowl for his own team that night. Instead, he bowled as
a substitute on S1 and stated that he was doing so because S1 has not won a
quarter and he wanted to help them out.

OK. There doesn't seem to be any thing in the rules (please correct me if I
am wrong) about subbing for another team and leaving your own team short as
long as they can field a legal line up of 3 men. - However, Rule 105 e 2
says that the absentee score of the bowler with the most games bowled must
be used when a player is absent. In addition, rule 107a states that a
player can not compete on more than one team during the same series.

My question is: Does an absentee score count as competition? If the
players absentee score must be used for one team while he is bowling on
another team for the same series, is it legal?

If it is not legal, what is the penalty?






 
Date:
From:
Subject:


 
Date:
From:
Subject:


 
Date:
From:
Subject:


 
Date:
From:
Subject:


 
Date:
From:
Subject:


 
Date:
From:
Subject:


 
Date:
From:
Subject:


 
Date:
From:
Subject: