bowling-forum.net
The bowlers choice for bowling chat.

Main
Date: 02 Nov 2005 18:02:26
From: Chuck McGowan
Subject: Probably a no brainer, but...
Monday night in league, a bowler delivered his 2nd shot with dead wood on
the lane. I do not know if he was aware of the dead wood or not, but it
should have been obvious. Regardless...he delivered the ball with dead wood
on the lane. The ball did not strike the dead wood, and he missed the one
pin spare he was shooting at, as well. He immediately cried foul, demanding
to reset the pin and shoot again, because there was dead wood on the lane.
An argument ensued, and he lost his argument. He was not happy about it,
but I think it was the right call. The ball did not strike the dead wood,
therefore, the dead wood did not come into play in the shot. Rule 6b
discusses illegal pinfall, but does not really cover the POTENTIAL for
illegal pinfall, which I believe is what the bowler's argument centered
around.

I think he was just plain stupid to shoot with dead wood on the lane in the
first place. I think the league pres. made the right call by not allowing
him to reshoot.

Opinions?

Thanks,
Chuck McGowan






 
Date:
From:
Subject:


 
Date:
From:
Subject:


 
Date:
From:
Subject:


 
Date:
From:
Subject:


 
Date:
From:
Subject:


 
Date:
From:
Subject:


 
Date:
From:
Subject:


 
Date:
From:
Subject: