I am acting as secretary for this week and the next 2 weeks (secretary
Date: 06 Jan 2005 20:08:08|
From: C D
Subject: Ok Rules Gurus.. I need some opinions.
is having surgery, is a teammate, I'm an ex secretary and the President
& VP approved)
The Last team to turn in a recap tonight asked if they could pre-bowl
for next week, since they cant get a legal lineup present. Next week is
a position round. No postponment commitee known of or listed in rules.
Only Officer present is the President. He and I both agreed they should
go ahead and Pre-Bowl (they're like 16th out of 20.. not going to
impact the standings much) I had a 'know-it-all' bowler overhear us and
tell us that the other team had to be notified and approve the pre bowl
I pulled out the "What is the answer book" (Which BTW... I LOVE as a
secretary and wish they'd make available to team captains along with
rulebooks) and question 103 says (paraphrasing) "If a team is granted a
postponment and the other team is not notified, are the games
forfeited?" The answer is "The opposing team does not have to be
notified in advance or agree to the postponment date" It does say it
should be done as a courtesy.
The 'know-it-all" insists the book is wrong and "ABC rules say" and
wouldn't you know it, it's very likely his team will draw the
prebowling team next week (it depends on another pending postponment
(tomorrow night) and some total pins)... He plans to file the good ol'
official protest if it's them...
I wont be around when the other pending team postbowls for tonight
(going out of town for the weekend) so I can't be on hand to figure
scores, and The Prebowl is scheduled for the next morning.
I think I handled this about as well as it could be under the
circumstances... anyone crossed this bridge before?