What happens when a single game is eligible for several awards? I can't
Date: 03 Apr 2005 01:14:31|
Subject: ABC awards rule question
seem to interpret the last paragraph of rule 51.
Situation: Bowler has a 133 average. Same bowler rolls a 250 game in a 150
Confusion: 1) Due to the new awards, that 250 game is eligible for 250
game under 170 average and also the 100 pin over average century award (you
could also add the 225 game under 150 average and the 200 game under 140
average, I guesse, because they would also apply in this situation). Are
both (all four?) awards awarded or must the bowler make a choice between the
awards? - The first time I read rule 51, I thought it said that a choice
must be made... but the second time I read it, I decided it might not say
that because it says, (paraphrased) "bowler is entitled to a choice of
awards for the first score recorded" and also says,(paraphrased) "Any
additional score in the same catagory that year will be recognized but no
award will be given". "First Score Recorded" seems to confuse the issue
because I think that the intention is to cause a choice to be made in such a
situation... but I'm having trouble grasping their actual meaning as it
tends to make me think that perhaps they are just saying that they won't
give the same award to the same bowler twice in a year.
Confusion 2) If that game was part of a 150 over series, does the bowler
have to make a choice between the award for the game and the award for the
series or should the bowler receive awards for both series and game?
Is there any other rule that applies? Is there anything that states more
plainly exactly what the new awards do to the existing award system?